Sahil Shembekar

Welcome to my page

How did I get into Waseda University?

Posted on 07 March, 2021 / 4 min read

Pre-Application

This is my second blog ๐ŸŽ‰ and one which has been long overdue, but better late than never. In this blogpost, I will be detailing all the steps that I took in order to get an admit at Waseda University [1] for a Masterโ€™s degree in Intelligent Machines.

The process of selecting and applying to a university for graduate studies can be a daunting task ๐Ÿ™. Most people go to the US, Australia, Europe for Masters. I also did a lot of researching about many universities and colleges. I finally made a list of universities to apply to. Waseda University in Tokyo ๐Ÿ—ผ ๐Ÿ—พ was the one which I was interested in. The Laboratory that I wanted to join had made the first Humanoid robot ๐Ÿค– (The WABOT project)โ—โ—. Although it was an unusual choice in the eyes of many, I was keenly interested in securing admission here.

The application process to the universities in Japan is a bit different as compared to the usual route that we take for applying to Masterโ€™s courses in other countries. So, I had to understand the application process prior to applying in order to not get overwhelmed by it later on. I connected with a few people via Linkedin and also by contacting relatives who had information about people working/studying Japan. Through them, I spoke to people who were studying the same course that I was planning to study. From them, I came to know about the intricacies of the application process :open_mouth:.

There are :two: major intakes in Japanese universities, one in April and the other in September. I chose the April 2019 intake to start my Master's program. The course that I applied to was for Masters in Intelligent Machines (Related to Humanoid robotics or robotics in general). This is a 2-year English Based course at Waseda University.

Application to Laboratory

I communicated via Email with Professor Shigeki Sugano, who is the Head Professor of the Laboratory, in which I expressed my interest in working in the Intelligent Machines Laboratory (Sugano Lab) [2] and the work that I had done previously. Along with this, I attached a copy of my resume. When I did not receive a reply from the Professor, I asked the admissions department at Waseda University to help me understand how to proceed. Then, I received a reply from Dr. Alexander Schmitz, an Associate Professor at the laboratory. I was told that I had to give a Mechatronics exam in order to enter the Sugano Lab. I was given a period of 14 days in order to complete the exam. I was allowed to use any website/textbook I wanted in order to answer the question but it goes without saying that I was not allowed to copy and paste content from any of the sources. Also, before taking the exam, I had a skype call with Alex in which he explained to me what his research entailed and how the application process was in general.

I completed the test to the best of my abilities and submitted the answers to Alex via Email. After that, we had a Skype call in which he asked me a few questions about my answers and the project that I had done previously as part of my undergraduate studies. On sending him a reply for the same, I was told by him to wait for results.

Result of the test

A few days after the test, I received an email from Alex informing me that I had cleared the entrance test and that I could proceed with the application process for the admission ๐Ÿ™Œ. I forwarded the result to the admissions office.

Document submission/ Student Visa application

The next step involved sending my documents to the admissions office of the university.

The list of documents was-

  1. Academic transcripts
  2. Certificate of graduation
  3. Letter of recommendation (2โ€“3 are ideal)
  4. English proficiency test score sheet
  5. GRE test score (Not compulsory)
  6. Statement of Source of funds
  7. Bank statement
  8. Application for certificate of eligibility (COE)
  9. Application for admission in April 2019 intake
  10. Resume

I sent these documents to the university before the deadline.

After this, I received an email from the University stating that I had cleared the entrance examination, leading to my selection for English-based Graduate Program starting from April 2019. It also stated that they had sent certain documents via courier which will help me understand the further procedure.

I received the following documents from the University:

  1. Certificate of success of passing the entrance examination
  2. Information on fee structure and bank account details
  3. Information about dormitory
  4. Certificate for notification of delay of admission documents
  5. Automatic debit transfer form
  6. Orientation details
  7. Final checklist for documents to be sent

Out of these documents I had to check the fee amount to be paid and pay it to the University bank account. I had to pay one semester fees which were 7,20,000 JPY. Only after this, my application for Certificate of Eligibility (COE) [3] would be sent to the immigration office by the University. Later, after payment of fees, I received a confirmation from the university informing me about the application for COE that they had sent to the immigration office in Japan on my behalf.

Next, I received a mail from University that my COE was approved and the University was going to send it by courier.

I had to take this COE to the Japanese embassy in Mumbai along with an application form, which was available on the Japanese embassy website. Post the application, I received my student visa along with the COE which I had submitted.

Finally, I had to carry these documents along with me to the university.

I think this summarises the application process in brief. Feel free to contact me if you read through this and still have some more queries.

References

  1. Waseda University Graduate Admissions website
  2. Sugano Laboratory website (Not updated regularly, but useful for contact)
  3. Good article by GaijinPot about Visas and Status of Residence